Home /
Departments / Curriculum & Instruction / Student Assessment
page tools /

Student Assessment

Assessment provides valuable information that is used to continuously strive to improve the academic progress of our students.  There are two main types of assessment:  formative assessment and summative assessment.  Formative assessment happens while learners are still in the process of integrating their new knowlede with what they already know.  Feedback is an integral part of formative assessment, giving students immediate information on their learning.  Formative assessment also allows teachers to retool their instruction in a timely manner to meet the needs of their students.

Summative assessment is the second main type of assessment.  Summative assessment typically takes place at the end of a period of learning and its results are usually for the use of the teacher or the school.  Feedback on summative assessment is customarily limited.  Students do not generally have the opportunity to be reassessed after a summative assessment.

State Assessments

Beginning in grade 3, students in the state of Texas participate in a state assessment.  Currently there are two assessment programs in the state of Texas, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) and the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR).

Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS)

The Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) is administered to students who were in grades 10 and above during the 2011 – 2012 school year. TAKS assessments were designed to measure how well the student learned and how well the student is able to apply the specific skill. The TAKS assessment program includes TAKS, TAKS-Accommodated, and TAKS-Modified.

TAKS Online Resources

State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR)

The State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was first implemented in the Spring of 2012. In grades 3 – 8, the following assessments are administered:

  3rd Grade  4th Grade  5th Grade  6th Grade  7th Grade  8th Grade 
Reading Yes Yes   Yes   Yes   Yes   Yes 
Math  Yes  Yes  Yes  Yes  Yes  Yes
Writing    Yes      Yes  
Science      Yes      Yes
Social Studies             Yes


At the high school level, the STAAR assessments are 5 subject-specific end-of-course exams:

English I ELA English II ELA
Algebra I  U. S. History


Assessment Resources

© Barbers Hill ISD
9600 Eagle Drive | PO Box 1108  |  Mont Belvieu, TX 77580   |  Phone 281-576-2221
email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite