page tools /
Home
Media
Gallery

Mentoring

 

About Mentoring

The purpose of the Mentor Program is to assist in building significant relationships between students and positive adult role models.

GOALS AND OBJECTIVES

The goal of the Barbers Hill ISD Mentor program is to provide struggling students with a positive adult role-model.

Mentors will meet with assigned students on a regular basis to:

  • Work on academic areas of difficulty
  • Discuss current issues related to school work
  • Establish effective learning strategies and study habits
  • Provide a healthy relationship with a positive adult role model

ROLE OF THE MENTOR

Mentors will work with BHISD students identified as at-risk based on state criteria or of concern due to lack of academic success or a specific situation. The mentor/mentee matching will be student-specific and the mentor will know the primary goals set for the student.

REQUIREments FOR THE MENTOR PROGRAM

Please download and complete the following forms and submit to the campus coordinator for your campus (*indicated a required form)

Mentor Training Video* - Best viewed in Chrome or Firefox
Criminal History Check Form*

Mentor Application*
Guidelines for the BHISD Mentor Program

The Mentor Task Force and Mentor Program is led by Robin Waller (ext. 1290).

K - 5th Grade Procedures

Elementary Procedures:

  • Mentors will complete a mentor application and a criminal history check. On the application, the mentor will indicate the time he/she is able to mentor.

  • Once mentors have gone through security clearance, they will be assigned a student.

  • The mentor will receive information about the student, academic or behavioral goals, and suggested activities. This information will be provided by the classroom teacher and/or the Mentor Coordinator.

  • The mentor will work with the student weekly and will indicate any concerns or questions in the student’s folder.

6 - 12th Grade Procedures

Secondary Procedures:

  •  Mentors will complete a mentor application and a criminal history check. On the application, the mentor will indicate the time he/she is able to mentor.

  •  The mentor will interview with the campus counselor to acquire necessary information for an appropriate mentor/mentee match.

  •  Once mentors have gone through security clearance, they will be assigned a student.

  • The mentor will receive information about the student, academic or behavioral goals, and suggested activities. This information will be provided by the campus counselor.

  • The mentor will work with the student weekly and will share any concerns or questions with the campus counselor.

Campus Coordinators

For more information, please contact the coordinator for the campus where you want to mentor.

Kindergarten Center Cheryl Abshier cabshier@bhisd.net Ext. 1324
Primary School James Harris jharris@bhisd.net Ext. 1269
Elementary School North Lori May lmay@bhisd.net Ext. 2804 
Elementary School South Elaine Bushnell ebushnell@bhisd.net Ext. 0000
Middle School North Luanne Martin lmartin@bhisd.net Ext. 1405
Middle School South Paula Harmon pharmon@bhisd.net Ext. 1225 
High School Miki White mwhite@bhisd.net Ext. 1276
BHISD Seal
© Barbers Hill ISD
9600 Eagle Drive | PO Box 1108  |  Mont Belvieu, TX 77580   |  Phone 281-576-2221
email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite