Transportation

Becky Nelson

Your child’s driver is a certified Texas school bus driver. To obtain this certification he/she has to possess a CDL (Commercial Drivers License) with P (passenger) and S (school bus) endorsements. Recertification is required every three years. He/she must pass a drug test, DOT physical, criminal history check, at least 20 hours of training. In addition, the driver is subject to random drug test each month.

Many of our drivers have been driving a bus for the district for more than 10 years.

We want you to know that our drivers believe that their foremost responsibility is your child’s safety. This requires the driver’s attention be on the road at all times. When the driver’s attention is distracted by misbehavior among the passengers, everyone is at risk. We ask your cooperation and support in maintaining good bus behavior. This is essential in sustaining the safest environment for your child and the 55-65 other bus riders on the bus.

Many people are surprised to learn that the State of Texas does not require school districts to furnish transportation. (Federal law covers transportation services for special needs students.) Riding a bus is a privilege. A child is not required to ride a bus to and from school.

 

9600 Eagle Drive | Mont Belvieu, TX 77523 (Physical)
P.O. Box 1108 | Mont Belvieu, TX 77580 (Mailing)
(281) 576-2221 phone | (281) 576-3355 fax