Section 504

Marilyn Ropp

Marilyn Ropp
District Section 504 Coordinator
mropp@bhisd.net
P. O. Box 1108
Mont Belvieu, TX 77580
(281) 576-2221 Ext. 1343

For more information on Section 504, please contact your child's campus counselor or Marilyn Ropp, District Section 504 Coordinator.

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 is a federal statute (anti-discrimination law), which protects the rights of individuals with disabilities to equal opportunity in programs and activities which receive federal funds. Section 504 is intended to level the playing field for individuals with disabilities so, for example, students can fully participate in school. The Section 504 regulation requires a school district to provide a “free and appropriate public education (FAPE) to each qualified stu-dent with a disability who is in the school district, regardless of the nature or severity of the disability.

Section 504 Child Find

Pursuant to Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the District has a duty to identify, refer, evaluate and if eligible, provide a free, appropriate public education to disabled students. For additional information about the rights of parents of eligible children, or for answers to any questions you might have about identification, evaluation and placement into Section 504 programs, please contact the District’s Section 504 Coordinator, Marilyn Ropp at 281-576-2221 ext. 11343 or by mail at:

P. O. Box 1108
Mont Belvieu, Texas 77580

 

Aviso Sobre La Identificación de Estudiantes Incapacitados

bajo la Sección 504

Bajo la Sección 504 del Decreto de Rehabilitación de 1973, el Distrito Escolar esta obligado a identificar, referir, evaluar, y proporcionar servicios educativos apropriados y gratuitos a estudiantes incapacitados que califican para recibir servicios bajo esta ley. Si usted desea mas información sobre los derechos de padres de niños incapacitados, o si tiene preguntas sobre la identificación, evaluación, y colocación de niños en el programa de Sección 504, favor de ponerse in contacto con el Coordinador de 504 del Distrito, Marilyn Ropp, al numero 281-576-2221 ext. 1343, o por correo a la siguiente dirección:

P. O. Box 1108
Mont Belvieu, Texas 77580

 

Section 504 Campus Coordinators

Campus Coordinator Email Extension
Early Childhood Center Cheryl Abshier cabshier@bhisd.net Ext. 3120
Early Childhood Center Carla Vaughn cvaughn@bhisd.net Ext. 3121
Elementary School North Haley McWilliams haleym@bhisd.net Ext. 2804
Elementary School North/South Nikki Juarez njuarez@bhisd.net Ext. 2905
Elementary School South Lori Meador lmeador@bhisd.net Ext. 1502
Middle School North Christina Peterson cpeterson@bhisd.net Ext. 1405
Middle School South Sarah Stone sstone@bhisd.net Ext. 1225
High School Leah Veazey lveazey@bhisd.net Ext. 1277
High School Miki White mwhite@bhisd.net Ext. 1276
High School Tiffany Guy tguy@bhisd.net Ext. 1262
High School Janci Alfaro jalfaro@bhisd.net Ext. 1365

Important Links